West Lake Landfill

Thursday evening I attended a meeting for the West Lake Landfill. The idea of the meeting was to inform the public on what the Just Moms group is trying to get accomplished AND to hear about the procedure for if an event happens at the landfill. I appreciate all of what the group is doing.

But when it comes to an emergency response… pretty scary. Shelter In Place does not carry with it a lot of confidence for me and my family. Especially when I work 300 yards from the damn place.

I know there are some that don’t believe anything will happen when or if the underground smoldering event reaches the radioactive materials. And I hope they are right, but there are already people getting sick around the site. My sister, Margaret Miller​ and I work there and smell that place every day. Nothing good smells that bad.

It is time for action. I am writing my elected officials. Please do the same. Especially Sen. Blunt.

If I could move my family away, I would.

If you don’t believe me on the seriousness, please do the research. They cleaned up Weldon Spring. They are cleaning up Coldwater Creek. Why not West Lake Landfill? The same materials that were dumped into Coldwater Creek are buried there.

Yes, I am scared. I work here. I live less than 5 miles away. It is a time bomb. And you know I am serious when I skip my evening run to be at a community meeting!

Leave a comment